Most Recent Awards

If you wish to review the Awards and Honors guidelines, click on the button to the right.

As part of each Annual Conference Banquet, the AWA presents a series of AWA Awards. Below are the AWA Conference Awards for 2023:

The AWA Houck Award for Preservation recognizes the acquisition, preservation and documentation of an outstanding collection of electronic communication artifacts

Presented to:  Geoffrey Bourne for his leadership of the Museum of Radio and Technology in West Virginia

The AWA Houck Award for Documentation recognizes quality original research and writing on the history or evolution of electronic communication technology in a published book, several articles in the AWA Review or AWA Journal or other publicly available periodical or long running website.

Presented to Bartholomew Lee in recognition of his 13 AWA Review articles and his dedicated work at CHRS

The Bruce Kelley – OTB Award is given to the individual who published an article in the AWA

Journal judged to be the most original, historical presentation of the award year

Presented to James Kreuzer for his article “Stromberg-Carlson’s Mobile Showroom” in issue 63/#2 of the AWA Journal.

Nominated by David Kaiser

 The J. Albert Moore Award, named in honor of a major contributor to the Antique Radio Club of America, recognizes original writing in the AWA Journal on troubleshooting, restoration techniques, performance evaluation, and identification techniques.

Presented to David Minchella for his series “The Screen Grid and Tetrode Vacuum Tube, Parts 1 and 2, in issues 62/#3 and 62/#4 of the AWA Journal.

The Robert Murray Award is awarded in honor of Robert Murray, AWA Review Editor Emeritus, for excellence in writing in the AWA Review

Presented to Glenn Trischan for his article “The Centralab Story: Innovations and Growth, 1940-1959” in the AWA Review, Vol. 36, 2023

Nominated by Timothy Martin

The AWA President’s Award – 2023

Presented to David Kaiser for his dedicated work as a Board Trustee, Journal Editor, Associate Curator, and valued legal advisor.

The AWA Vice President’s Award – 2023

Presented to Duncan Brown for his work on the teletype exhibit and his willingness to help out whenever needed.

The Max Bodmer Award is presented in recognition of creation of works that support future scholarship in the field of electronic communication history.

Presented to David Minchella for his development and teaching of the successful Learn It, Build It, Fix It classes.

The Peckham Award is presented to memorialize the passing of Lauren Peckham, AWA’s third president and his many years of service to AWA.

Presented to William Hopkins for his many years as a Board Trustee, Corporate Secretary and his award winning AWA Journal column “The Item in Question”.

The AWA Curator’s Award – 2023

Presented to Ed Gable for his many years as AWA Curator, all he has done for AWA, and for his leadership in the development of the AWA Ham Shack exhibit.

The Museum Award – 2023

Presented to:

  • Donald Vlack for his dedicated work as AWA eBay Manager.
  • Maxx Manning for his work organizing and assessing a very large donation from a silent key in Ohio.

The AWA Conference Award – 2023

Presented to Martha Fell for her dedicated work as Conference Registrar

“On the Air” Events

2022 Bruce Kelley Memorial QSO Party

Presented to Michael Horn KB0HXL and Steve Hobensack N8YE

2023 Linc Cundall CW Event

Presented to Gerald Reine W1ZB

2023 John Rollins Memorial CW/AM DX Contest

Presented to Ronald Barlow N4GJV

2022 AM QSO Party  

Presented to Stephen Fetter WA8UEG


Ralph O Williams Display Award

Presented to Steve Widdett for the KW Electronics Display

Best of Show Award

Presented to Steve Wallace for the SCR- 70

People’s Choice Award

Presented to Geoffrey Bourne for the Western Electric Morse Duplex Set (1918)