AWA Awards Rules

The Annual Conference events include technical presentations, flea market, bookstore, equipment contest, event dinners and equipment auction.  At the Conference Banquet Friday evening, AWA Awards are given. Below is a review of these with information on how you can nominate a candidate of one or more of them at the bottom of this page

AWA Awards

In response to questions about the AWA Annual Award Rules, the Board of Trustees have approved the following revised AWA Award Rules in 2019. In addition to updated rules, AWA has placed a history of award winners on the AWA website under the conference event awards choice. Felicia Kreuzer is Awards Coordinator. Nominations for all awards should be submitted to Felicia by email or postal mail using the information at the bottom of this page.

AWA Awards – The Rules

AWA’s program of yearly awards honors achievement by electronic communications writers, preservationists, collectors and historians.


The AWA Houck Award for Preservation, named in honor of radio pioneer Harry Houck, rec­ognizes the acquisition, preservation, and documentation of an outstanding collection of electronic communication artifacts by an individual or group. The collection may fo­cus on a specific class of device, a particular time span, a certain country of origin; or may be unlimited in scope. A preference goes to a collector who makes the collection and/or related data base available for research use; like­wise, aid given to other collectors / researchers is considered favorably.


The AWA Houck Award for Documentation recog­nizes quality original research and writing on the history or evolution of electronic communication technology in a published book, several articles in the AWA Review or AWA Journal or other publicly available periodical, or long-running web site. Preference will be given to sub­jects that have not been covered elsewhere. Assembly of a library of sig­nificant re­search re­sources, with that library being available to outside us­ers, is consid­ered favorably. 


The Tyne Tube Award is presented, in remembrance of collector – writer Gerald F. J. Tyne, for contributions to preserving or documenting the history of tube technology by an individual or group.  The writing is nom­inally tube-related, but does not ex­clude doc­umentation of early solid-state dev­ices on their relationship to tube tech­nol­ogy.


This award goes to the individual who published an article in the AWA Journal judged to be the most original, historical presentation of the award year. For each year’s award, articles in the four issues of the Journal published immediately before the AWA Conference will be considered.


This award, named in honor of a major contributor to the Antique Radio Club of America, recognizes original writing in the AWA Journal on troubleshooting, restoration techniques, performance evaluation, and identification methods.  The time span of this year’s award is the same as for the Kelley-OTB Award.


The Taylor Award is given in memory of John P. Taylor, TV developer at RCA and editor of the RCA Broadcast News, for documentation or preservation of the history of television technology.


The Robert Murray Award is awarded in honor of Robert Murray, AWA Review Editor Emeritusfor excellence in writing in the AWA Review.


While AWA members are a natural subject of honor by any AWA award, non-member nominations are welcome; we recognize meritorious work, no matter the source. Preference naturally goes to individuals who have not received similar awards previously.

A nominee not selected for an award in one year automatically becomes a candidate for that award in the next year.

An individual receiving one of the aw­ards becomes eligible for a re-issuance of that award after five years.


Nominations for ALL AWARDS, including supporting reasons why the nominee should receive the award, may be emailed to the Awards Coordinator no later than July 1st. See the Conference Contacts page here.