AWA Houck Awards

The AWA Houck Award for Documentation recog­nizes quality original research and writing on the history or evolution of electronic communication technology in a published book, several articles in the AWA Review or AWA Journal or other publicly available periodical, or long-running web site. Preference will be given to sub­jects that have not been covered elsewhere. Assembly of a library of sig­nificant re­search re­sources, with that library being available to outside us­ers, is consid­ered favorably. 

The AWA Houck Award for Preservation, named in honor of radio pioneer Harry Houck, rec­ognizes the acquisition, preservation, and documentation of an outstanding collection of electronic communication artifacts by an individual or group. The collection may fo­cus on a specific class of device, a particular time span, a certain country of origin; or may be unlimited in scope. A preference goes to a collector who makes the collection and/or related data base available for research use; like­wise, aid given to other collectors / researchers is considered favorably.

*indicates not award for category for that year

1971*Thorn Mayes
1972Bruce KelleyEd Raser
1973Gerald TyneRobert Merriam
1974Lou MoreauWarren Green
1975William BrenimanStuart Davis
1976Howard SchraderWayne Nelson
1977Ralph WilliamsVance Phillips
1978Don deNeufLauren Peckham
1979Ivan CoggeshallJoseph Pavek
1980Lloyd EspenschiedRalph Muchow
1981Alan DouglasJohn Caperton
1982*Fred Hammond
1983Kaye WeedonBro. Pat Dowd
1984Floyd PaulRex Matlack
1985Hugh AikenRalph Williams
1986 *Bill Fizette
1987John Nagle
1988Don PattersonRobert Lozier
1989Bob MorrisBruce Kelley
1990Morgan McMahonCharles Dachis
1991John AndersonBob Paquette
1992Tom LewisAl Jones
1993Bill HollyMike Feher
1994Edwin Lyon
1995Mike AdamsPerham Museum
1996William OrrJerry Vanicek
1998John Bryant/Harold ConeMuseum of History & Tech
1999Ludwell SibleyJim & Felicia Kreuzer
2001Brian BelangerRobert Schaumleffel
2002Marc EllisJohn Dilks
2003Bart LeeRon Frisbie
2004Bob PaquetteEdward Gable
2006Carlos Alberto FazanoAugust Link
2007*Eric Wenaas
2008*Ron Lawrence
2009Jane & Buford ChidesterJohn Jenkins
2010John DilksJune Poppele, William Endres and Ken Hoagland
2011Ivor Hughes/David EvansRichard Ransley
2012*Eric Wenaas
2013*Merrill Bancroft
2015*Cal. Historical Radio Society
2017David and Julia BartNew Jersey Antique Radio Club
2018David HochfelderPete Varounis
2019Len ArzoomanianErich Brueschke
2020Ian SandersJoe Knight
2021Bruce J HuntRobert Lozier
2022Jim and Felicia KreuzerJohn Ellsworth